“Career of Evil” Longlisted for Crime Novel of the Year

Fans of Robert Galbraith, J.K. Rowling’s pseudonym for the crime genre, will be excited to hear that Galbraith has been put on a longlist for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award for his latest novel, Career of Evil!

According to the Belfast Telegraph, Galbraith is up against authors Mark Billingham, Ann Cleeves, and Val McDermid. The newspaper adds,

The longlist, which comprises 18 titles, was selected by an academy of crime-writing authors, agents, editors, reviewers, members of the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival programming committee and representatives from T&R Theakston Ltd and WHSmith.

This year’s award is “open to crime authors whose novels were published in paperback from May 1, 2015, to April 18, 2016.”

The shortlist is set to be announced on May 31, and the winning title will be decided by a panel of judges, as well as a public vote. The winner, however, will not be announced until July 21, the first night of the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate.

Of the longlist, Gemma Rowland, festivals manager at Harrogate International Festivals, commented,

The list demonstrates that even the giants of the genre are constantly kept on their toes, with debut voices as serious contenders.

Do you hope to see Career of Evil win the prize? If you haven’t read it, get a spoiler-free look at the novel from MuggleNet Academia!