• Harry Potter and the Philosopher's/Sorcerer's Stone

  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 1

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2

The Films


At $7.7 billion, the Harry Potter series is the highest grossing film franchise in history. Individually, each film ranks in the top 50, from Prisoner of Azkaban at #43 to Deathly Hallows – Part 2 at #4. Three of the eight, Sorcerer’s Stone, Goblet of Fire, and Deathly Hallows – Part 2, were the highest grossing films in the year of their release, while the remaining five were in the top three. Many big names in British cinema, such as Helena Bonham Carter, Jim Broadbent, John Cleese, Robbie Coltrane, Warwick Davis, Ralph Fiennes, Richard Griffiths, Richard Harris, John Hurt, Jason Isaacs, Miriam Margoyles, Helen McCrory, Gary Oldman, Alan Rickman, Dame Maggie Smith, David Thewlis, Emma Thompson, and Julie Walters, are associated with the series.

It took ten years, two screenwriters, four directors, four composers, 208 actors, and an army of crew members to complete the Harry Potter series. Together, the films have been nominated for 5 Grammys, 12 Academy Awards, and 24 BAFTAs. As a whole, they have been recognized by the American Film Institute with a special award, by the Art Directors Guild for Contribution to Cinematic Imagery, and by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema. Director David Yates also won the Brittania Award for Artistic Excellence in Directing at the BAFTA Los Angeles Britannia Awards for Movies 5-8. In spite of this, the series has never won an Academy Award.

Latest News

Latest News

More Film Series News



  • Filming for the series began in September 2000 and ended on December 21, 2010.
  • All eight films were produced by David Heyman.
  • Stuart Craig and Stephenie McMillan designed the sets for all eight films.
  • There are thirteen actors that have appeared in all eight films: Robbie Coltrane, Tom Felton, Rupert Grint, Joshua Herdman, Matthew Lewis, Devon Murray, James Phelps, Oliver Phelps, Daniel Radcliffe, Alan Rickman, Geraldine Somerville, Emma Watson, and Bonnie Wright.
  • J.K. Rowling insisted that the principal cast be kept British and the films filmed in the UK. She was given a great deal of creative control.
  • There are a number of characters in the books who were left out of the movies, including Ludo Bagman, Professor Cuthbert Binns, Mr. Borgin, Sir Patrick Delaney-Podmore, Marietta Edgecombe, Marvolo Gaunt, Merope Gaunt, Morfin Gaunt, the Muggle Prime Minister, Karkus, Augusta Longbottom, Peeves, twenty-something-year-old Tom Riddle, Hepzibah Smith, Ted Tonks, and Winky.
  • Together, the films are 19 hours, 39 minutes long.
  • Out of the films have emerged a group of young actors and actresses J.K. Rowling has deemed “The Big Seven”: Bonnie Wright, Tom Felton, Rupert Grint, Matthew Lewis, Evanna Lynch, Daniel Radcliffe, and Emma Watson.

In Memoriam

In Memoriam

  • David Ryall (1935-2014)
  • Granville Mark Haddenham (1962-2014)
  • Kieran Jones (1990-2014)
  • Dave Legeno (1963-2014)
  • Rik Mayall (1958-2014)
  • Margery Mason (1913-2014)
  • Roger Lloyd Pack (1944-2014)
  • Richard Griffiths (1947-2013)
  • Stephenie McMillan (1942-2013)
  • Eric Sykes (1923-2012)
  • Alfred Burke (1918-2011)
  • Jimmy Gardner (1924-2010)
  • Timothy Bateson (1926-2009)
  • Robert Knox (1989-2008)
  • Elizabeth Spriggs (1929-2008)
  • Richard Harris (1930-2002)

MuggleNet Harry Potter Oscar Ceremony

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on Twitter0Share on Reddit0Share on Google+0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on TumblrDigg thisEmail this to someone