Hogwarts Houses as The Four Elements

The four Hogwarts Houses in Harry Potter are best known for their designated colors, traits, and animals. Fans everywhere enjoy finding out which Hogwarts House they would be sorted into and which Wizarding World characters they relate to the most. A fact that some fans may not know, however, is that the descriptions of Gryffindor, Slytherin, Hufflepuff, and Ravenclaw were created with the four elements of matter in mind. Read below to find out which Hogwarts House is Fire, Water, Earth, and Air!

Gryffindor – Fire



The element of Fire represents adventure, leadership, and confidence. Gryffindors match this perfectly with their House traits of bravery and chivalry, and the goals of the characters we see sorted into it. Just like fire, they are passionate and daring in all of their endeavors. Strong connections with their friends and family are what keep them burning bright. Gryffindor’s House colors, red and yellow, also mirror the image of a flame.


Slytherin – Water



The element of Water represents mystery, sensitivity, and the protection of the body. Slytherins are known for ambition, resourcefulness, secrecy, and self-preservation. Like their House animal the serpent, who is commonly associated with water in mythology, they can also be flexible and fluid. Slytherin’s House colors of green and silver symbolize a dark body of water. Their Common Room is even located under a lake!


Hufflepuff – Earth



The element of Earth represents grounding, practicality, and reliability. Hufflepuffs have similar character traits of being loyal, dependable, and fair. Like the Earth, the connections that Hufflepuffs form with others are deep and unwavering. The House colors of yellow and black not only symbolize a badger but also the colors of wheat and soil. It’s no wonder that Hufflepuffs thrive in Herbology class!


Ravenclaw – Air



The element of Air represents intellect, curiosity, and agility. Ravenclaws embody this personality with an added flare of wit and wisdom. Like the raven, the witches and wizards in this House value independence and fly down their own path. They have a huge appetite for learning information and getting things done. Ravenclaw’s blue and gold colors closely resemble an eagle flying through the sky.

Descriptions of the four elements bring a new, yet familiar light to the four Hogwarts Houses we know and love. Do you think your sorted House matches the above element descriptions?

Alyssa McHugh

Harry Potter has been a big part of my life since the age of nine. The stories and characters have helped me fight my own personal dementors. In my Muggle time, I enjoy blogging, reading fantasy novels, attending festivals, listening to music, and hanging out with my two cats!