Alfonso Cuarón to help reveal Academy Award nominees

Following his Oscar success with Gravity last year, director Alfonso Cuarón will be helping to announce this year’s Academy Award nominees alongside director J.J. Abrams, actor Chris Pine, and Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs.

Interestingly, the Academy is changing the way nominations are announced this year with a new two-part presentation where all 24 categories will be revealed live. Previously, only 12 of the categories were included in the presentation.

The event will begin January 15 at 8:30 a.m. ET/5:30 a.m. PT. Cuarón and Abrams will reveal the nominees for Animated Feature Film, Documentary Feature, Documentary Short Subject, Film Editing, Original Song, Production Design, Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing, and Visual Effects.

At 8:38 a.m. ET/5:38 a.m. PT, Pine and Boone Isaacs will then present the nominations for the more major categories: Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Cinematography, Costume Design, Directing, Foreign Language Film, Makeup and Hairstyling, Original Score, Adapted Screenplay, Original Screenplay, and Best Picture.

Boone Isaacs said of the change,

We’re delighted to have Chris, Alfonso, and J.J. participate in the excitement of nominations morning, which, for the first time, will highlight nominees in all categories. This new approach enables the Academy to further recognize excellence across our entire industry and underscore the full spectrum of the arts and sciences of motion pictures.

A live stream of the event will be available at oscars.org/live.

The winners will be announced at the 87th Academy Awards on February 22. It will be broadcast live on ABC at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

MuggleNet will be on the lookout for any Potter alumni whose names turn up among the nominees! Are you excited to find out who’s nominated this year?

Catherine Lai

I have been a fan of Harry since 2000, a fan of MuggleNet since 2005, and a MuggleNet team member since 2013. I believe in the power of stories to bring people together, and nothing does that quite like Harry Potter. I’m an annoyingly proud Canadian and live in Toronto.

Welcome to MuggleNet!

 

Would you like to join our mailing list?