“Potter” franchise to receive honorary BAFTA, J.K. Rowling and David Heyman to accept

It was announced today that the Harry Potter franchise will receive a special BAFTA Award for its “outstanding British contribution to cinema” at this year’s ceremony. From the BBC:

Potter author JK Rowling and producer David Heyman will receive the award on behalf of the franchise.

The films have “highlighted the expertise within the British craft and technical industries”, BAFTA said.

The awards ceremony will be taking place February 13. We hope to share video of J.K. Rowling and David Heyman’s acceptance!