Major controversy in the 2014 Quidditch World Cup match between USA and Jamaica
UPDATE: It has been conclusively decided that the US has won this match, defeating Jamaica 240 to 230. It was determined that Kquewanda Bailey was suffering from an infected Sasabonsam bite received during the opening ceremonies and that no foul play was involved. Team USA moves on to the quarter-finals! Be sure to visit Pottermore for full details!
The 2014 Quidditch World Cup has been hit with a spell of issues ever since the Opening Ceremonies mayhem when the Norwegians released a Selma as their mascot into the lake already inhabited by the Fijian Dukuwaqa, causing 300 people to suffer injuries.
Yesterday, during the USA versus Jamaica match, controversy arrived again when the Snitch was caught by US Seeker Darius Smackhammer at the exact same moment Jamaican Chaser Kquewanda Bailey fell from her broom, according to the Daily Prophet report by Quidditch correspondent Ginny Potter. The rule that was possibly broken:
An amendment to the rules of Quidditch in 1849 stipulates that if a member of the crowd casts any jinx or spell on a player, their team will automatically forfeit the match, whether or not the team ordered or approved of the magic performed.
For a full recap of the match and how this controversy is being handled by the ICWQC, head over to Pottermore and read the ENTIRE article by Ginny Potter in the Daily Prophet offices in Diagon Alley.