Harry Potter Films

PS/SS  CoS  PoA  GoF  OotP  HBP  DH1  DH2

DVDs & Special Editions

At $7.7 billion, the Harry Potter series is the highest-grossing film franchise based on a single property in history. As of January 2018, six of the eight films (excluding Chamber of Secrets and Prisoner of Azkaban) still rank in the top 50, from Sorcerer’s Stone at No. 33 to Deathly Hallows – Part 2 at No. 8. Three of the eight, Sorcerer’s Stone, Goblet of Fire, and Deathly Hallows – Part 2, were the highest grossing films in the year of their release, while the remaining five were in the top three. Many big names in British cinema, such as Helena Bonham Carter, Jim Broadbent, John Cleese, Robbie Coltrane, Warwick Davis, Ralph Fiennes, Richard Griffiths, Richard Harris, Sir John Hurt, Jason Isaacs, Miriam Margoyles, Helen McCrory, Gary Oldman, Alan Rickman, Dame Maggie Smith, David Thewlis, Emma Thompson, and Dame Julie Walters, are associated with the series.

It took ten years, two screenwriters, four directors, four composers, 208 actors, and an army of crew members to complete the Harry Potter series. Together, the films have won 3 BAFTAs and been nominated for 25 BAFTAs, 5 Grammys, and 12 Academy Awards. As a whole, they have been recognized by the American Film Institute with a special award, by the Art Directors Guild for Contribution to Cinematic Imagery, and by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema.

Director David Yates also won the Britannia Award for Artistic Excellence in Directing at the BAFTA Los Angeles Britannia Awards for Movies 5-8, while David Heyman received the Special Achievement in Filmmaking award from the National Board of Review for “The Harry Potter Franchise – A Distinguished Translation from Book to Film.” In spite of all this, the series has never won an Academy Award.

Latest News
In Memoriam